jump to navigation

Class blogging January 14, 2010

Posted by Wendy Wolfe in Blogging.
Tags:
trackback

I admit, I am stumped. What is now the best (and still free) tool to use with students for blogging? In the past I used Edublogs and it was great. Students were able to design their own blogs, the administrator could approve all posts and or comments if s/he wanted to, it was free, and if students wanted to export their writing to a WordPress blog, they could do that at the end of a class and not lose any of their work.

Now, one of my colleagues would like to start blogging with students next week and it looks like Edublogs has turned my favorite aspects of its program into a paid service. 😦  I did find 21 Classes and it looks great…for a teacher with ten students. Blogger would be a possibility, but the administrative control is not great.  I’m leaning toward exploring Class Blogmeister in the morning, we’ll see how that goes.

Any suggestions? My buddy Ben would throw this out to his Twitter network. I’m not so good at Twitter, but it might be my next stop…

Comments»

1. Ben Knaus - January 14, 2010

Hey Wendy,

I’m getting a wireless lab in the near future and have this same question. One example (via Twitter) that I’ve seen is Mr. Goerend (http://www.mrgoerend.com/). It looks like he’s using Blogger. From what I can tell, he has a single student log in and they post with first name, last initial.

That’s not exactly what you are looking for, me either. But it might be work around until something else comes along.

And…I’ll throw it out to my Twitter people 😉

2. Knaus - January 14, 2010

From Twitter:

RT @tomwhitby: @RussGoerend Why not create a private class Ning? Have a blog page. Guest blog out the exemplary pieces. @learnteachtech

3. Wiki Boot Camp « No Time to Sleep - January 14, 2010

[…] 2010 Posted by Wendy Wolfe in Wikis. Tags: Wikis Tutorials trackback I am still working on the blog problem (thanks Ben for the tips, please keep them coming if you get more ), but just finished the major […]

4. Knaus - January 14, 2010

Another suggestion from Twitter:

http://kidblog.org/home.php

I haven’t looked at it.

5. Ben Knaus - January 15, 2010

Last one:

http://weebly.com

Again, haven’t checked it. I’m almost sold on KidBlog.

6. Wesley Fryer - January 20, 2010

I was going to suggest Kidblog and am glad to see it’s already here in the comments.

I wonder why you’re not going with EduBlogs, though? They have a paid version, but free versions are still available that have advertising. I’d definitely consider EduBlogs too.

Wendy Wolfe - January 20, 2010

On Edublogs, the ads don’t phase me and I really liked the program when I had my students blog last year. My colleague is looking to set up for students with their own blogs but still maintain administrator control (as opposed to having one class blog to which they all contribute). It looked like that feature went the way of the paid upgrade… I will dig back into Edublogs again, perhaps I missed it.


Leave a Reply

